July 6th (is coming very soon)

pizza4breakfast

Registered
July 6th at 9:30AM I will step off a plane at EZE, try to hail a cab to downtown BA, and try not to freak out. Hello! I can't wait to arrive!

I am an artist and musician and I am moving to BA to start a band. I will also be studying spanish at UBA, attempting to find work, looking for a place to live, and generally doing all the things one must do upon moving to a new city.

I look forward to chatting with you, and perhaps meeting some of you as well.

-Ian Van Veen

First mistake:

When stepping off the plane, DO NOT "HAIL" A CAB!!

Go to the Taxi Ezeiza (or Ezeiza Taxi) stand that is:
-OUTSIDE the "Secured Area", but...
-INSIDE the airport building.

You pay them for your taxi, you get a receipt, and then you wait for someone to get you and take you to a taxi. If you "hail a cab" you're going to be paying about 2 to 4 times what you should be paying.

But before you get in the taxi, you should also change some money at the airport, but...

(1) DO NOT CHANGE MONEY AT BAGGAGE CLAIM!!! You will get the worst rate that you can find in the country.

(2) Change your money at the Banco de la Nacion Argentina location with two windows-
-a window facing inside the SECURED AREA in between the "Remises" (private taxis) windows on the right, or...
-a window outside the Secured Area (BUT AGAIN, STILL INSIDE THE BUILDING) around the corner on the right after you leave the Secured Area.

Here's a link to their logo, so you'll know what to look for: http://www.bna.com.ar/

For a tour of the city and a kazillion more helpful hints, book a tour or three here: www.balocal.com

Congratulations on making the decision to move! I agree with everything that Napolean said, be careful!

Have you looked into apartments at all or are you planning on staying at a hostel for awhile?

I live in Palermo and I have done my share of apartment hunting. If you need someone to show you around or need some help, let me know!

Napoleon said: