Need Guarantee To Rent....

Kokopele

Registered
Renting in Buenos Aires requires a lot mor paperwork than in US.
In most cases, without some history and a guarantor, it is impossible to rent or lease property.
Any advice?

Talk clear to the owner. I have been renting for 20 years without it.
Do not buy a garantía.
Use Clarin during the week for finding appartment.
When they ask for garantía, you reply " i don t have garantía, i have cash".

Here's an alternative but of course it depends on your situation whether or not you will qualify - there is renter's guarantee insurance available from both Banco Supervielle and Banco Ciudad. You must of course have a DNI and a job in Argentina to qualify. I've accepted this insurance before from tenants that I have had and it's actually more secure than an actual guarantía. The bank pays the landlord directly each month and all the tenant has to do is deposit the rent at the bank.

Everyone pays in cash now days. That won't make much difference to the owner. The laws protect the renter and if they lose they're job or have a medical reason for not being able to continue paying the rent the owner of the apartment has to take the tenant to court and it can take a year or two to get them legally evicted from the apartment. That's why the ask for a "garantia". Maybe the owner will let you rent the apartment if you pay four or six months in advance as a garantia.

For a Farangi without DNI no Garantia and no job, seems imposible, in my 10 year Experience.

Unless you can pay 13 months cash upfront B) . Includes the agents commission plus 1 month rent and 1 month deposit The owner receives only 9 months Garantia.... as presented by Real Estate Agent in Recolets.

What an owner can accept depends on each case. :cool:

Renting in Buenos Aires requires a lot mor paperwork than in US.
In most cases, without some history and a guarantor, it is impossible to rent or lease property.
Any advice?