New To The Group And Needs Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marielferrer

Registered
Hi everyone! My name is Mariel and I am from the Philippines. I plan to move to Buenos Aires in June. I need some information
regarding teaching English in the city. First off, Is it imperative that I have an IELTS (International English Language Testing System) certification since I am not considered a native speaker? Are schools or potential students very particular with that? I have a bachelor's degree in Communications as of the moment and I am about to take a TEFL/TESOL course here in Manila. Also, I of course plan to take an intensive Spanish course while I am there since based on my 2-week stay in Argentina, it is almost impossible to get around without knowing the language. Do you have recommendations as to which school has good classes and at the same time affordable rates? I will be based in Castellar. Hope you can help little ol' me! Gracias amigos!

The only thing is that the native speakers living here, may be offended that a non-native speaker, intends teaching English in BA and take their livelihood

Castelar? That's outside the city... and depending where, can have some rough parts.
I think students do prefer native English speakers.... institutes requirements will vary. Most of the students/institutes are in the city, so you'll probably be traveling a lot unless you can find something in the area. Coming to teach English can be a challenge.

The only thing is that the native speakers living here, may be offended that a non-native speaker, intends teaching English in BA and take their livelihood

oh...I would think native speakers should be proud that another person from another side of the world was able to master his/her language. English is already a universal language in this day and age and I hope my country of origin would not permit me from teaching it there.