Newbie Introduction And A Couple Questions

Wilson

Registered
Hello! Or should I say, hola! No really, I barely know Spanish, should I say hola or not?

Anyway, I'm Wil, currently living in the Pacific Northwest but very seriously considering a longterm/permanent move to BA in the near future. I'm an illustrator and writer, have one book deal in the can and another in the works, but still am not making enough to survive in any real way.

Argentina is the home of one of my all-time favorite authors (Borges, of course), favorite contemporary author (César Aira) and favorite contemporary musician (Juana Molina), so it would appear to be a singularly inspiring place. Also, an inexpensive place. Both are attributes that should pique the interest of any artist.

However, there are still a millions things I don't know about living in Buenos Aires. So. Here I am, hoping to find helpful information from expats who've gone before me.

My most pressing question is how much Spanish does one require to get by in Buenos Aires? I've every intention of jumping headfirst into Spanish while there, and already begun self-directed lessons. But wheels down I'll have the vocabulary of a toddler or very well-trained dog.

Also, is it as inexpensive as I hear to live in BA? Got a lead on a studio in Sam Telmo for $650 a month, which is hundreds below what I'm currently paying but not as cheap as I assumed. So is the savings in foodstuffs and transportation? What would be the usual grocery bill for a single vegetarian, approximately?

Thanks a million in advance for any advice, and see you around the forums!

W.

Actually Juana Molina is from here but I think she lives in the states....

Also these are pretty much the same questions that every newbie asks so check out in the search bar "newbie questions" or "thinking of moving" and then just look at the month/year it was written and add 30% per year increase on to those prices.

Juana lives in Argentina.