One way tickets out

garygrunson

Registered
Hi,

I am trying find a ticket to US in May (Charlotte, NC). Since I am not coming back to BA anytime soon, I would like to save some money and buy a one way ticket. Of course one way tickets are usually 300 dollars more than round trip tickets.

I am carrying extra luggage too, so I was looking into non-US airlines because they offer cheaper luggage fees.

There must be some way to buy a regular priced one way ticket. Anyone have any advice or web sites?

Thanks,

Gary

You may be better off simply buying a non-refundable round-trip ticket since one-way prices are always (nowadays) unrestricted full economy fares. As an ex-airline pricing analyst, I haven't seen any one-way special fares out of LatAm in years, and they are rare out of the US as well. Try for a low round-trip to MIA, then purchase a separate one-way MIA-CLT fare (although a rt special fare may also be lower).

garygrunson said:
Hi,

I am trying find a ticket to US in May (Charlotte, NC). Since I am not coming back to BA anytime soon, I would like to save some money and buy a one way ticket. Of course one way tickets are usually 300 dollars more than round trip tickets.

I am carrying extra luggage too, so I was looking into non-US airlines because they offer cheaper luggage fees.

There must be some way to buy a regular priced one way ticket. Anyone have any advice or web sites?

Thanks,

Gary
I researched the heck out of that before I left Buenos Aires in December. No go. Just get the cheapest round trip and if you never use the return leg, oh well.

garygrunson said:
Hi,

Thanks,

Gary