Surrogacy

Millie

Registered
Hi All.,,
I recognize that this is a very personal type of post but I am wondering if someone can help with a definitive legal answer…
My husband and I would love to have a child, but due to a health issue, I can’t have children….
I know that it is legal here in Argentina to have a baby through a surrogate..
My question is : I am a permanent resident, married to an Argentine.. would I be elegible for this despite the fact that I don’t have Argentine citizenship?
I don’t want to bring this idea up to my husband before knowing this critical piece of information..
I have a wonderful Doctor in Rosario but I haven’t had the chance to ask him detailed questions yet … but I will ask him as soon as I see him on March 18… Until then, I was wondering if anyone knows about this . This is a very important subject for me and obviously a sensitive one and I am eager to talk to my husband about the possibility ASAP…
Thanks in advance for any info about this.

I am not an expert in the subject but I can only tell you that surrogacy is not illegal in Arg but it is not legal ( regulated ) so you need to be extremely cautious and do your own research, talk to doctors, lawyers, etc to avoid nasty surprises. Most cases I have ever heard of have been between family members or very close friends. I also know that most couples or single parents do it abroad because they feel safer in terms of laws, etc. I am sorry I cannot be more helpful.

I am not an expert in the subject but I can only tell you that surrogacy is not illegal in Arg but it is not legal ( regulated ) so you need to be extremely cautious and do your own research, talk to doctors, lawyers, etc to avoid nasty surprises. Most cases I have ever heard of have been between family members or very close friends. I also know that most couples or single parents do it abroad because they feel safer in terms of laws, etc. I am sorry I cannot be more helpful.