Anyone else "crazy" enough to live in La Boca?

obiwanderkenobi

Registered
Was just reading the thread about the French tourist who died after being robbed in Retiro, and I remember reading a Reddit travel thread a few days a back where someone was trying to discourage people from visiting Buenos Aires because "they got robbed in Palermo and had their knee broken." I also seem to remember seeing someone here saying that San Telmo is too dangerous for them. Meanwhile, I've been staying in La Boca at an "off the books" Airbnb for two months, and it made me wonder if I'm crazy?

My apartment is pretty much right next to the La Boca mural and Parque Lezama. Easy walking distance to plenty of nice restaurants such as Nápoles. I was in Bogotá for six months before I came here, and I feel less anxious walking around here than I did walking around most parts of Bogotá. Though for the most part I just take Uber or Cabify everywhere since rides are so cheap here.

I must have looked at a couple hundred Airbnb listings, including lots in the more traditional tourist areas, before I saw this one and fell in love with it. It's a penthouse "double" apartment (four apartments per floor on the other floors, but only two oversized apartments on the top floor). The host is an Airbnb "superhost" and the apartment had a perfect 5.0 rating with 40+ reviews. What sold me on it was that it has a huge private and furnished balcony with probably one of the best views of the Buenos Aires skyline of all the apartments I looked at. Not exaggerating, the view is unobstructed and truly stunning.