Complete novice to B.A - need advice and knowledge please! :)

lucymay

Registered
Hi there!

Am moving to BA 26th July for 5 months from uk. Will be studying in university here.

Q1) My flatmate and I are looking for an apartment at the moment and vast majority want payment in US dollars, however according to all the estate agents it is very difficult to get hold of dollars. Why? [ we can only afford to pay monthly- otherwise we would just bring the dollars with us!]

Q2) Should I open a bank account here? If so where is the best place/ simplest option?

Q3) Where do I go to get a new sim for my phone so i can make cheap calls within the country instead of using my british sim phone?

I hope there is someone who can help us =]

Hey! Welcome to BA. All of your questions are already addressed in many threads. Check the past few pages of recent posts.

1) Bring dollars with you as you can't get them here. Or if you go to Uruguay take them out of ATMs there. You are going to really be glad you brought them though - they go a lot further (6 pesos/dollar vs 4.5 in the atms). try to negotiate a deal in pesos for the apartment if your situation is really complicated. They may make you pay the black market rate for the price in pesos, so it would be better for you to just bring the cash with you.

2) Don't open a bank account... too complicated for just 5 months. Check out the threads on xoom.com for getting easy and above-market rate legal access to cash pesos.

3) You can get a phone and sim card every 5 blocks. Just look for the signs of the major carriers of Claro, Movistar, and Personal. I have a blackberry internet plan but I've heard Movistar has the best pay-as-you-go plan (and you can add credit in any kiosk on pretty much every block).

Lauren, your answer was great but the op made it clear that she and her flatmate have access to their funds on a monthly basis and can't bring enough dollars to cover the full five month's rent in advance.