ESL Teacher & Son Thinking of Moving to Argentina

CanadianESLTeacher

Registered
Hi There,

I'm thinking of moving to BA for a few months this summer, see how it goes. I'm a well-qualified ESL teacher with 16 years experience; I also train ESL teachers. I am also thinking of making a documentary about ESL while I am there. I have no problem teaching English as that is what I do.

I also have my 8 year old son with me.

I'm wondering how feasible it would be to at first travel around with my son for awhile, and then settle down and work somewhere. Are there schools he could attend? Would it be better to stay in BA or in the provinces. We don't speak Spanish (yet): not much anyway.

Is it safe to stay with a child in BA or in Argentina? Kids don't play on the streets here anymore in Canada and I'd like to live somewhere a little more laid back for awhile.

I suppose health insurance would be a good idea, also.

Cheers.

I am sure plenty of people will have some helpful and constructive responses to your post, try not to take personally the incredulous ones, tough love is often the name of the game on this forum.

If you are looking for more laid back and safe than Canada, I am quite sure Buenos Aires, at least the Capital, is not the place you want. I don't know where you are coming from, but I have friends in Toronto and Vancouver and I would feel infinitely safer in either one of those cities than anywhere in Buenos Aires. There are clubs you can join where your child can play outside and it's relatively safe, Club de Amigos or Club Ciudad de Buenos Aires, and I take my son to many of the playgrounds and parks here, but I don't think anyone with a choice would let their 8 year old play on the streets unsupervised here. Maybe one of the barrios cerrados in the suburbs, but that's not the experience I imagine you would be looking for.