First Time Using Argie Credit Card For Travel

jeff1234

Registered
I’m planning to use my new Argentine credit card for an upcoming trip to Mexico but I’m new to the world of azul and blanco currency, AFIP, etc so I’d appreciate your comments as to whether I correctly understand how to best use my credit card.

First I’m using the new card to purchase air travel to Mexico and hotel there from despegar.com. Despegar says that taxes and fees included so I expect to see the exact price appear on my credit card bill.

During our trip we will also be traveling within Mexico. Before we leave I’m going to buy those airline tickets and hotel stays from Kayak.com or Expedia in USD. I’m expecting these charges to appear on my bill as the amount of USD x 8 (approximate blanco rate) +20% for fees and taxes.

While in Mexico I will charge meals and sightseeing on this card. I expect these charges to appear on my bill at the Mexican/Argie blanco conversion rate + 20% for fees and taxes

I’ll be renting a car and will buy the insurance thats offered by the rental company with my Argie card, unless someone has a better suggestion.

I will pay for the total cost of this trip with 12 equal monthly payments hoping that inflations reduces the dollars required to make each payment.

I will use Xoom to convert my USD to blue pesos for the monthly payments.

I also have US credit cards but it seems like I’m better off using my new Argie card for everything on this trip.

Advice, suggestions appreciated.

You are almost right about everything...

Despegar: yes, it's an Argentine company and you will be charged in pesos; all the taxes and fees are included in the final price and displayed as "Res. 3550 AFIP". This means that if you pay in monthly installments (Despegar offers "hasta en 12 pagos" depending on what bank you got your card from) you will also be paying for the AFIP taxes in installments. You can get the 35% back in April 2015 if you file for taxes in Argentina.