Getting support for my MacBook Pro?

pixer12

Registered
Hey, everyone.

I'm a college student here until June on an exchange program. My MacBook Pro has started to have some problems, and I need to get it fixed, preferably by an Apple authorized technician. I've found on Apple's website that there are some authorized support shops throughout BsAs, and what I wanted to know is: does anyone here have any experience with this? That is to say, does anyone have suggestions about which shops to go to/what not to do/how much repairs typically cost/etc?

Thanks,
Michael

You can go to a Macstation - I've found them quite helpful. I went to the one by my old apt (Maure and LM Campos) but there are a bunch.

Price depends on what is wrong. Be warned that if it needs parts, they're not easy to find and if you need to buy anything, it's crazy expensive. I had to replace a charger and they wanted 2 or 3x more (dollar to dollar cost) than what it would have been in the US. (I wound up buying it online in the US and a friend brought it down).

I will say, they replaced my laptop casing (the plastic had cracked) for free even though it was well past the warranty period. I had brought it in to check on the battery and they noticed the crack and offered to replace it.

Wow, I just checked MacStation's website. I don't know about parts but their price for the 15" Macbook Pro (its the 2.2 GHZ that I was looking at) seems to have gone up by about 4000 pesos from September 2011. (If I remember correctly).

I've used the Apple reseller at Honduras 5225 (Godoy Cruz) for repairs to a Macbook Pro, and they've always been helpful, especially when the computer is under warranty.