Is BsAs that dangerous??

EufemiaEudoxia

Registered
Guys, I am looking for your help on a safety issue. I am coming to Buenos Aires to study Spanish at UBA. I visited the Argentinean embassy in Warsaw yesterday to ask a couple of questions, because I am coming to Argentina for the first time in my life. The person there told me about the taxis taken from the street, the bags being robbed on the street or what's worse about ransom kindnappings. Do these things really happen like on a regular basis? Will I ( a woman) be safe hanging out on a street alone?? I would really appreciate your help on this.

It's no more dangerous than any typical big city, relax and don't worry. "Will I ( a woman) be safe hanging out on a street alone" If you mean at 4am in a dark street with a nice watch then you're going to have problems, however if you use common sense it's not dangerous here.

I used to work in a factory full of people from poland, they were really funny. In a good way. Kocham Cie!!!!!

EufemiaEudoxia said:
The person there told me about the taxis taken from the street, the bags being robbed on the street or what's worse about ransom kindnappings.

I have lived here for 3 years, and i have meet alot more people who have been robbed here than i did when i lived in capetown... But generally it is not violent crime. I have had my passport pick pocketed, taxi drivers rip me off, and twice people tried to steal my bags at bus stations.
Ransoms and kidnappings - never known anyone who has had that happen - well foreigners anyways ..