Moving To Ba From Canada

CanaCroat

Registered
Hi everyone!

I'm new here! I'm from Vancouver and looking to move to Buenos Aires within the next year (I don't have an exact date yet as I'm trying to be prepared as possible before I commit to the ticket.)

I'm hoping to teach English (I have a TESOL certificate) although I've heard that it can be a challenge to find teaching jobs. Eventually my goal is to find work within the NGO arena (I have a degree in Peace & Conflict studies). However, I am quite open to other jobs and living in other regions, and once comfortable enough, even outside of Argentina.

My Spanish is quite basic, I have a beginner class under my belt and am currently taking some online courses, I can understand enough to get by, but conversing is still something I'm working on. How big of an issue is language going to be? Also, I'm speak near fluent in Croatian, but I'm not sure if that's worth anything? Hah

I'm just a little nervous, a good nervous. But, I'm looking forward to doing something different and challenging myself... From what I understand I can do the 3 month visas by leaving and re-entering the country, but I would imagine trying to work with that visa is next to impossible. And, if I'm lucky enough to find an English teaching job then I can get a work visa covered?
For living, I've heard I would have to pay cash up front for any rentals...sometimes for the duration of the stay? Is this normal, risky? Or would it be better to live in a househare or hostel for the early days?

Any general guidance and advice that might be of use would be very much appreciated!!
Cheers!
~A

I don't think you will do much with Croatian skills, but never say never... My guess is that translating HR>EN online would be more lucrative than teaching English, or you could complement the two!