New And Looking For Work

SteMcA

Registered
Hi All,

I recently arrived in Buenos Aires, from Ireland, and I have a six month working holiday Visa that can be extended to 9 months. I have a degree in commerce and a 20 hour in classroom TEFL qualification. I have experience working as an accountant (2 years) and was also a swimming teacher for several years.

I am looking for work in Buenos Aires. I would like to do English teaching but am open to any employment. My Spanish is non-existent at present but I am learning.

What is the best way to go about finding work? Any advise would be much appreciated.

Cheers

Stephen

I always recommend craigslist/BA.
Somebody is always looking for "native speakers"
Good luck.

http://buenosaires.en.craigslist.org/

Work on your Spanish until March when things get moving again around here. It's not difficult to get some English classes.

My wife teaches swimming too and there is some work in colonias (summer camps) during summer, but not without some language skills.

Professional work will be hard to get without Spanish, that's the reality. You can teach, look around for other English language jobs advertised online too.

Might be worth checking in with the embassy. There is a small GAA scene (very small!), I never paid that sort of thing any attention when I was at home but you might find it useful in terms of developing some contacts. I go out ever now and again to clear out the lungs and keep in touch with the Irish guys and meet the Argentine-irish.

If you have any interest there is a group of Irish & Argentine lads (and girls) training out in Hurlingham on Tuesday nights & Sat mornings. It's a way to get in touch with the Irish out here, and in a social setting it might help with your spanish.

Send me a PM here if you're interested. Haven't been out myself for a few weeks. too hot and I've been busy but I'd be glad to let you know what's going on.