Poll: How good is your Spanish?

How do you rate your own ability to speak and understand Spanish?

• Fluent: I speak like a native

Votes: 1 1.0%
  • Advanced: I can take part in a full conversation

Votes: 20 20.8%
  • Intermediate: I'm competent but struggle a bit

Votes: 28 29.2%
  • Novice: I know enough to get by

Votes: 29 30.2%
  • Complete beginner: I pretty much just stick to English

Votes: 18 18.8%

• Total voters

philamote

Registered
I haven't seen too many threads on this question. Curious to know how you would rate your own Spanish-speaking abilities on a scale of 1 to 5. Ratings are totally subjective, but the idea is something like this:

5 = fluent: speaks at a native or near-native level, can pick up the slightest nuances in the language and use colloquialisms effectively
4 = advanced: can hold a conversation, but with some grammatical slip-ups and second-language tics
3 = intermediate: competent, but struggles occasionally to express certain ideas and concepts
2 = novice: knows how to introduce oneself, can "get by" well enough to order meals, book a trip etc.
1 = complete beginner: knows a few basic phrases but otherwise sticks to English (or other native language)

Other related questions would be: how much Spanish you use at home, how much at work, how much you rely on it with friends, and so on. (Quantity of the language used doesn't always determine one's quality in speaking it, but the general assumption is if you use it more in daily life you speak it better.)

My guess is that most on this forum will rate themselves at least 4, although recent arrivals/short-term visitors will skew lower.

There's also the somewhat related question "How good is your lunfardo?" but that need not get in the way. You can speak the language quite well and still get tripped up by the slang here...

Highly unscientific poll. Feedback welcome!