Transferring Money out of Argentina

Davidglen77

Registered
Does anybody know the answer to this? Of course, every single answer I have received from the people at the banks has been different. So I figured I would ask my cohorts here on the board.

If I sell a property, all in blanco, everything legal, and I recieve US$ in my bank account for the purchase, can I then transfer that money back to the USA?

I have heard yes and no. I have been told yes, as long as the funds are in blanco and I can prove that the origin is legal, which of course is not hard to do being that it would be from the sale of a property.

Some money I have in pesos saved up I would just spend here before I left and not even bother trying to take it back to exchange in the USA.

If it helps, I am a permanent resident and I have my DNI since July 2008. I purchased this property with funds that I obtained from selling another property that I owned here. The last property I sold, in November of 2010, I didn't have any problems at all, took a total of 1 week to sell and 1 month to get all of the papers in order to do the escritura.

Any advice would be appreciated, I don't know if I am leaving yet, but I just want to have an idea of how difficult it will be if I do.

Not exactly the right answer, but a few months ago a friend sold his apartment, received the money in cash at the bank and had it sent back to US through an intermediary. Something like Banco Piano but with lower percentage fee. PM me if you want to contact him for info.

use the same guys you brought the money in with no? casa de cambio guys? or did you bring everything in en blanco?