Yogurt Casera?

MorganF

Registered
Hey everyone :)

Random question. No, today's question doesn't involve philosophical ramblings, heh.

I'd like to make some yogurt at home. I've never done this before. Using a useful website called "Google", I've discovered that you need yogurt cultures.

I haven't been able to find anywhere on the Interwebs that sells yogurt cultures, in Argentina. All my Mercado Libre searches yield in -- humorously -- people selling their Dahi yogurt glass containers. (Ha, ha! Going rate, 10-14 pesos each.) But no luck finding cultures. Any ideas?

I'm not an expert on this. I'm much more experienced in early modern English literature and ancient Greek mythology. But making your own yogurt? I'm a total newbie. In fact, I'm not even quite sure what a "culture" is other than it sounds healthy. (Maybe I'll combine these interests and make.... Greek yogurt! Ha!) (dum-de-dum, I know that one was totally obvious. I'm a simple guy who tells obvious jokes, I know.)

If anyone has made their own yogurt here, any tips? :)

Also, I discovered there is a machine called a "yogurtera" that seems to be useful for this and the going Mercado Libre rate is about 700 pesos!

morgan

No need for a culture. You can use vinegar or rennet. I have some rennet I brought from home, though I haven't still tried it and it has been sitting on the shelf for 1.5 years now.

The issue I had was with milk, too much watery hence very little yogurt left.
You can also start with actual yogurt, I think 1/10th of yogurt should do the trick. Plenty of recipes on the internet.

I heat up full fat milk to finger temperature (about 1,7 l) and mix it with a pot of Yogs natural yogurt. I pour it into a two liter thermos and let it sit for 12 hrs in a warm spot. Then I pour it into a bowl and beat by hand to work out the lumps. I then let it sit in the fridge, in a jar with lid, for six hours. It will have a concistency a bit thicker than drinking yogurt.