Barrios

JPD

Registered
Hey, I'm quite new to Buenos Aires and have no idea about the different barrios. Is Abasto considered a decent neighborhood or should I stay away from there. I'm looking at an apartment near Corrientes and Gallao. Best Regards

Abasto is ok during the day, but at night it is not so cool: drug dealing, street fights, drunk people, etc. I would look closer to Callao ( Congreso ) if I was you.

oooh, illegal Peruvian and Bolivian immigrants - I find that offensive.

I walk the streets of Abasto at all hours - it can look kind of rough but I have never felt threatened.

crisp eel said:
oooh, illegal Peruvian and Bolivian immigrants - I find that offensive.

I walk the streets of Abasto at all hours - it can look kind of rough but I have never felt threatened.

You are right :p I just edited that. It gets a bit ghetto ish at night in some streets ( have you tried going towards Sarmiento and Aguero? Everything between Corrientes and Cordoba is more normal, but Corrientes to the other side... Also some dead en streets ( Pasaje Zelaya ) are known for heavy drug selling ( crack ). Have you visited the block around the Abasto Towers? There are several blocks like that where houses have been taken and they host mini villas inside.

Of course you have the mall, Coto and Anchorena with all the tango stores, bars, etc, but there are several places in the neighborhood I would certainly would not recommend to a tourist/expat or city first timer.

Again, I apologize for that nasty comment I posted before, didn´t really mean it, but it was more of a figure of speech ( I know, a bad Argentine one )

Alright, thanks for the warnings. Recoleta it is then

JPD said:
Alright, thanks for the warnings. Recoleta it is then
Recoleta is safe, but so is Congreso and it is substantially cheaper. Some some parts of Almagro, Villa Crespo, Belgrano, Caballito. If you need to be close to Callao and Corrientes, Congreso is a good option.