Changes To Bank Machines Here?

syngirl

Registered
I just tried to withdraw money from my account abroad (for the first time in months) and at 3 different machines (Frances, Santander, and Galicia) the machine told me that my card does not work in those machines (I tried all machines in each facility). At Banco La Nacion it looked like it was going to work and then after selecting 1500 pesos told me it was an invalid amount, then 700 same, then 500 same. I didn't try any less because why bother if I'm going to be charged the 50 pesos per transaction! I have money in my acct abroad, I checked, there are no minimum balances I need on there, so I can't figure out what's going on. Is it just that I'm out in Urquiza so they've disabled all machines here from accepting foreign cards?? If anyone could enlighten me that would be great -- I'd like to pay my cuota at the institute I'm studying at today if possible, but don't see a way of getting this resolved by end of day if I can't just put the card in the machine and take the money out.

Cheers

[sup]This happened to me once, but a quick call to the bank resolved it. Have you done that? Sometimes they randomly block your card for security purposes.[/sup]

Yeah, I usually call ahead. This time I didn't and I couldnt withdraw any chilean pesos. Seems a bit OTT.

Interestingly in the queue for the ATM two chileans were remarking how incredible it was to find a working ATM at 6pm on a Tuesday evening, they were only short of dishing out the high fives!

Basically the error messages of ATMs are kind of random - the issue could be e.g., no money in the account, no money in the ATM, no connection or failure between the network connection ATM/Bank, blocked card, reached limits (from the card/account/ATM), ... Best way to resolve it is as Bradley said calling your bank.