Coming to BA Soon... A few questions

Bryan7007

Registered
Hi,

I found this website very helpful, but I still have a few questions. I will be coming to study in Buenos Aires just for the fall semester and need the wisdom of expats like yourself!

As I am an American student, I will not have a DNI.

Will I be able to get a Sube or Monedero Card? Also, where can this be done and what is the difference between the two cards?

I would also like to purchase a blackberry or some sort of smart phone just for my semester there. My guess is that I will not be able to sign a contract for a short time, especially with out a DNI. Does anyone know of a cell phone company that would sell pay as you go phones?

Finally, is the whole coin hoarding thing as bad as people say it is? I just hope I will have bus fare!

Any and all advice BA is appreciated! Thanks in advance :)

Bryan

I am not fimilar with a BlackBerry but for a iphone a freed iphone can carry any pre-paid chips from any company. Just don't use 3G and stuff like that

Those cards are the same and everywhere available

dont worry.

every phone company sells prepaid service. you can buy almost any phone, new or used, and then go into a corner store and buy 50 pesos worth of minutes for it.

as for the subte/mondero cards, again, anybody can buy em anywhere, and recharge them.

the coin shortages come and go, but they are never THAT bad, and more and more collectivos (buses) are taking the cards all the time.

basically, sometimes, somethings, may be a bit more hassle than you are used to, but all of these systems work, and everybody knows how to do it, so once you are here, its easy enough to figure out the local eccentricities.

Everyone here takes the subte and the collectivos, and they do it while talking on their phones, and you can too!

Bryan7007 said:
Will I be able to get a Sube or Monedero Card? Also, where can this be done and what is the difference between the two cards?