do males get robbed more in BA??

LaurenW

Registered
I am wondering your thoughts on this theme that I've been contemplating for a few months. I have come to lean towards the conclusion that Buenos Aires thieves are more likely to target males, though I am far from 100%.

My rationale is that:
1) guys are more likely to have more cash (open for debate, but I know guys pay a lot more in restaurants and in boliches than the women)
2) the thieves feel more macho targeting men than women (a pride thing)

I know women still do get robbed. But if a thief had to go for a single man or a single woman (barring some huge muscular dude), who would they choose?

I think that single women are easier targets than single men.

They're easier to overpower (in general) and their purse is easier to pull away (vs getting money out of any number of pockets for a man).

That's all personal opinion, that has nothing to do with research.

There aren't any reliable crime statistics published, so it is impossible to know for sure. Do keep in mind that robbery is not the same as theft is not the same as burglary, etc. Robbery=theft+force or threat of force. So pick pocketing or taking someone's purse off the back of a chair when she's not looking are not examples of robbery. Pushing a woman away as you try to pull her purse off her arm would indeed be an example of robbery.

Pure speculation based on nothing in particular: I think women are less likely to fight back or put up a struggle during a robbery attempt. They also might be more likely to cooperate and give up the item so that nothing worse happens.

I would have said the opposite. I don't think the thieves here have much pride, their mostly a bunch of underaged strung out paco addicts from the villa or casas tomadas. I think they're going to go for the easier target.

You think that a thief will rob a man instead of a woman as a matter of pride?? If it is a matter of pride, then why don't they find an honest way to make a buck?