Is anyone else a mistreated English teacher?

mybeautifulair

Registered
I've been teaching English for a few months now, and I have to say - it really sucks some days! Always running around from location to location, last minute cancellations, institutes underpaying you... I work tons and make no money. Does anyone else teach English and hate it? Or even better, did anyone USED to teach English and got a real job? I'd love some advice on how to overcome my current job situation....

I can see the responses now. This is going to be good.........:). I've always wondered, why is there no "Vent your frustrations" section like in other expat boards?

Mybeautifulair: That sounds awful, specially the last minute cancellations. The trick is to charge by the month, in advance. If students cancel with enough notice, try to work them into your schedule - if not, they lose that class.

Are you a qualified teacher, or do you just speak English?

An old flatmate of mine had the same problem with last minute cancellations. Apparently, agencies do charge a student if they cancel at the last minute - my friend had an agreement with her agencies that if I student gave a certain amount of notice, she would reschedule the class...if the student cancelled at the last minute, she could reschedule if she wanted/was able...but would get paid anyway if not. You should definitely talk to them because chances are the agencies ARE getting paid anyway...and are probably making more money if the student cancels and they don't have to pay you. If they're private students, you should charge for a certain amount of lessons per week or per month - with rescheduling at your discretion if they give you short notice. If you explain to them that last minute cancellations lose you money (as it's time you could be spending teaching someone else) I'm sure they'll understand.

SaraSara said: