Question about Monotributo

Isaa

Registered
Hello, everyone! I am new. I moved to Buenos Aires about nine months ago, I'm a freelancer, so most of my clients are abroad. While I wait for my DNI to (finally) arrive, I have been thinking of ways I can get health insurance. Apparently, the monotributo is one of them. I am unfamiliar with the process or how high the tax is. Most of my clients pay me via PayPal, so I don't know how to declare that either. I was wondering if anyone here was a monotributista and if they had any recommendations for new residents in BA. Thank you!

I was able to obtain a private health insurance plan through Hospital Aleman using only my passport/ tourist Visa. You might do well to go there and check. This was in 2014 and I still have the same plan. Not sure they still allow sign-up using only a passport/tourist VISA but if you tell them you're awaiting your DNI should be no problem whatsoever.

Monotributo is super simple but your billing must be under certain amount. Just check that you do not pass it.

... I have been thinking of ways I can get health insurance. Apparently, the monotributo is one of them.

The plain "obra social" you can sign up with when creating a monotributo does not provide much coverage. So it is recommended to sign up with one of the "Prepagas" like Swiss Medical, OSDE etc. that provide pretty good coverage. Neither monotributo nor DNI is required to sign up with those.

I am unfamiliar with the process or how high the tax is. Most of my clients pay me via PayPal, so I don't know how to declare that either. I was wondering if anyone here was a monotributista and if they had any recommendations for new residents in BA. Thank you!