Reputable private banker for USD transfer

njexpat

Registered
Hi everyone, I replied to a different thread on a similar topic with this question, but wanted to make a post for full visibility in case someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm a student from the United States new to Buenos Aires and have just been lucky enough to find an apartment in Recoleta. The only difficulty I am facing is exchanging some USD from my bank account for physical USD, which is the preference of my new landlord. I was wondering if by any chance anyone knew of a reputable private banker who charges a reasonable commission for this kind of transaction. I'd like to avoid calle Florida to avoid the risk of potential scams. Thank you in advance!

Getting USD sent here is no small task. something to undertake when there is no other option. not when a landlord sees a yankee and thinks he can take dollars. his preference for dollars is only because youre a yankee. the currency in argentina is the argentine peso. that is what he will have to accept, too bad he doesn't get to take dollars from the yankee. the best way to get pesos is to send money to yourself via western union. send from your USA bank account, pick up pesos at the blue rate at a western union.

I agree......all owners will accept the dollar rent converted into the Blue pesos. Some owners have little experience and have ideas that won't work. You will have trouble with this agreement as you have stated. El Fuego explains it well. And there may be more apartments than you think in Recoleta. I am getting one there for myself in a few days.

Thank you all for for letting me know! I've already put down a deposit for the apartment via Zelle from my US based bank as well as the commission fee, so it seemed strange to ask for physical dollars every month. I'm sure the landlord will be able to use Pesos at the dollar rate, which would of course be easier for me and still paying for the cost we agreed upon.