Starbucks Vs A Good Old Cafeteria.

Gringoboy

Registered
Which do you choose?
I find there's something rather sterile and unwelcoming about Starbucks.
OK, they've got loads of different coffee choices, but it ain't cheap.
On the other hand,more and more cafeterias here are going up market to the point that they almost resemble a Starbucks, but given the choice, I'd seek out a traditional and older establishment with old furniture, faded photos and a patina of years of coffee drinking where the walls almost talk to you.
In many of these older places you can still get a lovely cafe con leche for about $25, at least in my experience.

There's a reason why Starbucks are popping up all over the city and are almost always full of customers...

Yes, it's incredibly expensive, but it's a Yanqui business, where understanding of customer service is a barista requirement. I would know- I worked as a Starbucks barista in college, and it is company policy to greet a customer, to be cordial, and at the end, to say, "Thank you." This is not always the case in other local cafés in Buenos Aires.

That, and I wouldn't necessarily call the Starbucks environment "sterile." I mean, you have big, comfy chairs, soft jazz music in the background, free wifi, etc. Maybe they're on to something.

Just my observation.

It depends on if you like a good coffee or no. If you like good coffee you wouldn't go to either frankly. Starbucks beans are ok but their coffees are expensive milk. Most traditional cafeterias burn the crap out of their coffee and it's intomable. If you like a good coffee go to any of the better coffee shops popping up -- Pick up the Fork has a list of them and the options are growing.

Birkin is the best one I've been to of late that stands out in my mind. There's a coffee shop on Libertad just off Sta Fe that has real croissants.

http://pickupthefork.com/2014/04/24/i-got-99-problems-but-a-cafe-aint-one-the-best-coffee-in-buenos-aires/