Student Visa Expires Before Course Ends?

geash

Registered
I applied for and received the short term (6 month) student visa back in April, received my precaria that expired in May. I assumed that immigration would either reject me, or give me a visa valid until the end of my course (August 5) that's clearly stated on the letter of proof of enrollment that the university I'm studying at gave me, but no. They gave me a visa that expired two weeks ago, so now I'm illegally in the country.

Has this happened to anyone before? I don't understand why they would give me residency that doesn't last even close to as long as I clearly showed them it needed to. My precaria even said that I had applied for a visa for a 6 month long course, so what gives?

Also, what should I do to become legal again? I know that people overstaying tourist visas have to pay a fine when they leave Argentina. Is it the same for overstaying residencia transitoria? Is there any way to not pay a fine at least, because I feel like immigrations made a mistake when they were processing me or something.

There are illegals here, this is a civilized country (only about this).
They give precarias according to the law, you had to show up at the DNM abd renew it before it expires. Do it asap before they enact a deportation order (90 days more or less).
This is not the same, you are in the radar, fix it.

They give precarias according to the law, you had to show up at the DNM abd renew it before it expires. Do it asap before they enact a deportation order (90 days more or less).

If geash's visa expired around the 25th of June and the course ends an Aug 5th, wouldn't the need to "fix it" depend on when he/she is leaving the country?