Tango Classes, Tango Shoes

Lulu-Kyoko

Registered
I have decided to finally take tango lessons... a friend suggested La Escuela de Tango in Galerias Pacifico because I have a schedule that is all over the place and they have a huge selection of classes, running from 9 AM until 10 PM.

So I bought a pass, but I can't seem to muster up the courage to actually go.

I'm nervous because the tango classes are listed P-I-A (a mix of beginner/intermediate/advanced). And I am an absolute beginner, not to mention a bit shy. Any suggestions? Should I take private lessons to get myself started? Or should I take the "tecnica para mujeres" to start, or should I just jump into it???

I'm also curious as to where the best place to buy tango shoes, at a reasonable price, might be. Preferably Almargo, Recoleta or Centro.

Gracias!

Just go. Tango is really difficult for men, not for women.
However, for starting to dance I recomend El Beso (Riobamba y Corrientes). La Academia de Tango Milongero has an excellent approach for teaching to dance on the dancefloor, I mean, they don t teach bull...t like usually happens. They have clases on Mo-Wed-Fri-Sun at 8 pm.

Forget about private clases, you need miles of dancefloor.
Forget about technique clases for now. When you master the clases, then you try techique.

Lulu-

Bajo knows of what he speaketh.

Before he broke his back and before he sired a child, he was a milonguero. Working on his technique in the late hours of the night/early morning.

The pressure of tango is ~95% on the man. It's frustratingly difficult, but the woman has to just trust the man and let him lead her all over the dance floor. Tango let's a man be a man (or the lead in a relationship be the lead) and a woman be a woman (or the follow in the relationship be a follow). These established roles are very enticing in the mixed-up world that we live in and often results in women from other countries falling in low with the dance and moving here for good.