Tutoring

argentinabound4

Registered
Hi,

I'll be moving to Buenos Aires in September for 4 months. I know it's a little early, but I'm CRLA (College Reading and Learning Association) certified - I'd like to tutor English speakers in Spanish. Sometimes it's hard for a native Spanish speaker to teach a native English speaker how to learn Spanish because they didn't have to "learn" the language and go through the frustrations of conjugation after conjugation- in other words, they never started simple. I've been tutoring like this for 2 years and have tons of worksheets, etc to help the process of learning Spanish. I finally speak Spanish and I know how hard it can be to become bilingual (if there is such a thing as bilingual)! Would anyone be interested in this type of tutoring when I arrive? Thanks!

Let me see if I understand you, you need to learn Spanish?
Regards,

No no, I know Spanish, but I'm a native English speaker, so I'd love to tutor English speakers in Spanish. It would be almost class-like, starting with the basics and learning one conjugation to the next.

If you don't have any luck with this, rest assured you'll have a lot of luck if you go for teaching English lessons...unfortunately knowing Spanish here isn't really an "advantage" as far as the job-market goes, but knowing English is...Knowing Spanish often helps for getting "normal" Argentine jobs, which pay a lot less than "expat" or "native English speaker" jobs. Generally all the best paying work for foreigners involves speaking native English in some capacity. :rolleyes:

I'm not sure being a native english speaker is a quality I would look for in my spanish teacher. Especially as we have an abundance of cheap, bilingual, fluent local professionals here who already make a living doing this. And they have the advantage of the correct accent and colloquialisms.