Uba: How Free Is Too Free ?

Noesdeayer

Registered
About a week ago the Argentine Congress rejected once again a proposal to charge a fee to attend the University of Buenos Aires.Also,there will be no entrance exam for public universities.According to Adriana Puiggros who sponsored the law ,having graduated from secondary school will be sufficient.Some may recall the hassle a few years ago when fewer than 100 out of several hundred applicants for La Plata's U.'s Medical School passed the entrance test.The decision was made to give the test again.However now,it has been eliminated completely.Quite natuarally,Argentina is free to run their public universities the way they see fit.However,I am a legal foreign resident a taxpayer and an Argentine retiree.So,when they start talking about funding from ANSES,my ears perk up.
Ms.Puigarros feels that funding should be done only by taxation.But what type of taxes and on whom?She also says that the "·eliteization" of the university must be avoided.Silly me,I always thought that an exam was an opportunity to show what you knew not what you didn't know.i guess I was wrong.When i was in Cuba in 2005 at a gathering of local health professionals.A woman told me of her disappointment that her son had not done well on the exam to study medicine and that he had been given the "camillero"-stretcher bearer" catagory.I said that maybe he could study up and take the test again.She looked at me strangely as if ,as the Argentine saying goes,I was "un sapo de otro pozo"-"a toad from another pond"-No hay segunda vuelta".-"There is no second chance"..And the Cuban revolution knew a thing or two about abolishing the elite.Maybe Ms.Puigarros could learn something from them.

Yeah, I saw this about the entrance exams the other day. I didn't notice about the proposal to charge a fee.