Vacations: Labor Law in Argentina

wstevens

Registered
So as I understand in Argentina they have what they call "vacaciones corridas".
I'm entitled to 15 days of vacation, but I'm still trying to understand what these vacaciones corridas imply. What does it mean?
Also, does it mean that I need to take 15 days straight of vacation or can I still divide my vacation months into several months?

Also if they can indeed be divided and I take only 5 vacation days on 1 year, can I carry the other 10 days to the next year?:cool:

Thank you!!!!

I'm not an expert, just an employee, but AFAIK it is like this:

You can take weeks (or at least at my job we can) but not DAYS. It is not like PTO were you can take a day in Feb then 2 days in March, etc. You can split the weeks, but you take the whole week, and that includes any holidays in it.

I.E. you take a week off and you got a national holiday on Wednesday that week, but you don't get an extra day for that.

No, you can't carry your days on to the next year. In my experience if you didn't take it you loose it (or get paid for those days, this was actually offered to me by one of my employers).

Then again I know exceptions, for instance my wife managed to talk her boss once into getting less than a week.

Oh, and also. Some companies here have timeframes for vacations. For instance I worked at 2 different companies where you could take vacations only on Jan, Feb and Mar. I know because I wanted to take July to go to the mountains and I couldn't :/

Culturally, they see vacations as a time to relax, not answer email, and recharge batteries.
There are many ways to get off from work to do something necessary: you get two days for a move, up to 14 days per year to study for a university test, time for a wedding and honeymoon, etc