Visiting my brother in BA for three weeks, looking for expert advice!

tinuvi

Registered
Greetings all,

My little brother's been living in BA for over a year now (from the US) and in February my father, my sweetie, my daughter and myself are coming down for an all-too-short visit.

I peppered my brother with questions, and he recommended that I take some of my questions to this seasoned group. I hope that's appropriate since I'm not technically an expat. Anyway, here goes (thanks in advance!)...

1) My (walking) daughter will be 12 months old when we visit. If you have a baby or young child, what would be your most important piece of advice when visiting BA with a toddler? How do you reconcile BA's late hours with bedtime and enough rest for your little one (and yourself!)? Where's your favorite place to go in town with your little one? We won't be renting a car - should I be concerned about no seatbelts or carseats in taxis, etc.?

2) For various reasons I use unscented/biodegradeable dish detergent, laundry soap, shampoo, etc. Are these things available in non-chemically versions in BA or should I plan to bring enough for the whole three weeks?

3) Are there any kind of secondhand clothing stores? When I travel I like to pack really light and fill in any gaps at my destination. Buying secondhand is enjoyable for me, and then I can re-donate what I buy at the end of the trip.

4) When my not-yet-Spanish-speaking sweetie found out I was asking questions of a group of expats, he wanted me to include three questions: what's your experience with the language, and how hard is it to be a part of things without speaking Spanish; what's the general sentiment towards citizens of the US; and why did you choose BA? He's a widely-traveled fellow, but hasn't yet been to South America so he's particularly curious why people are drawn there.

Many thanks for any and all responses you're willing to send me. :)

Cheers,