What do you all cook down here?

LAtoBA

Registered
I am not a great cook. Basically trying to step my game up. But I'm really at a lost with where to begin since moving down here. Was just wondering if someone would be so kind to give me an idea of what you cook on a weekly basis? I know very general question but anything would help. I lean more on the healthy side but if it tastes good I won't turn it down.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Ha, well, that's a broad question! Funny, actually I was just an "ok" cook before I came here, and due to all the constraints you'll find here in the food realm I've been forced to cook anything I couldn't find here (enchilada sauce, mexican salsa, cream of mushroom soup, quality marinara, etc.etc.) I can say I'm a good cook now.

I get bored of eating the same things all the time, so I use websites like www.foodgawker.com and food blogs as inspiration for when I'm stumped or uninspired. I bookmark any recipes that sound good and go back to them. I'd die without really spicy food, and my go-to recipes are spicy Thai and asian inspired stir fries, teriyaki, curries, etc. over arroz yamani (that's a whole grain brown rice that's sold in dieteticas and barrio chino stores down here). Otherwise I mainly do lots of Mexican food, and in between I make chili, salads, soups, pasta (the pastas here are great--if without much variety--as are gnocchi and you can make any sauce to go with it), quiche, etc. I've even started making my own breads lately (cinnamon raisin loaf, english muffins). Easier meals include garden burgers with oven fries, or chicken sandwiches, etc. Real lazy cheats are just throwing chicken in the oven and making a salad.

Are you looking for specific recipes? I generally find anything I need online, there are so many food resoures out there. Have fun experimenting!

What did you cook in LA?