Armed Robbery In Palermo 2Am Saturday

splattermatter

Registered
Hi Folks,
I am an "expat" I guess...I live here with my girlfriend and new daughter. They are Argentine, I am from the USA. I have been here for 3 years reading these posts so I thought I'd share a warning and experience.
I have been traveling and living in South America for about 8 years and am generally very very careful. Before Friday night I had never had anything like this occur so it was quite an eye-opening experience.
We were walking the 4 or 5 blocks from Bangalore to our Hotel at around 2 am this Friday. A taxi stopped behind us and two young men, like under 20, ran up behind us, one with a 9 mm pistol and one with a knife, the gun was put to my head and the knife my girlfriend. "DAME LA PLATA!" So I threw the money I had...like 800 pesos...into the sidewalk away from me to get the guy off me and the guy pointed away...then the taxi pulled up in front and the robbers jumped in and sped away...
It only takes a little time and other people can be around so be careful...These guys were brazen and I have no doubt if I resisted he would have shot me...The city is becoming more and more unsafe and the criminals are becoming more brave because there is little resistance to their crime...I wish I could have done more but could not risk being shot...I figured if he shot me once he wouldn't stop.
Though I wasn't scared specifically at the experience...I just didn't really want to get shot and I certainly didn't want to die...
My name is Corey.This is a true story.

Sorry to hear that.

Got robbed too with a gun on my head (a 32 caliber I guess) not far from my house. Wondered if I would take my chances (was inside my car, guy holding the gun in his left hand) since I had a large gas spray within reach (to repeal bears).
Good thing I didn't react since I later discovered about the identity of the guy + the gun was really loaded.