Banking Regulations For Non Residents

jbeas176

Registered
I am wondering if the banking regulations have changed for non residents with residential ownership. my account was closed 2 years ago and wondering if marci had any effect on those regulations. I just want a savings account with a debit card for automatic pay for utilites. I am a US resident and understand the problem is the reporting demands of the IRS. just hoping to catch a break.

I'm no longer in Arg but I was a perm resident and several banks I went to wouldn't open an account for me since I was a US citizen due to the FATCA regulations.

Thy Banco de la Nacion. It's not the best but works for us.

T/

thanks all. its what i expected. nancy, about a year ago, i went to bank de la nacion and applied. they said no problem, but finally said i need to have a job in buenos aires. did not make sense. i asked how i could work and report income if i was not a resident. i will give it another try.

I'm here 18 years without a local bank account, and I pay my bills at a Rapipago.

You can set up an automatic debit with Metrogas, Edesur, etc. from your US account with a VISA debit card. Read the reverse side of your bill for details.

For example, I found this on the Metrogas website:

MetroGAS le permite abonar su factura con las principales Tarjetas de Crédito o Entidades Bancarias, evitando colas innecesarias e inconvenientes imprevistos.

El débito será realizado en la “Fecha de vencimiento” que figura en la factura.
  • Puede completar su Formulario de Adhesión al Débito Automático por Tarjeta de crédito, haciendo Clic desde aquí
  • También puede adherirse llamando a nuestro Centro de Atención Telefónica al 4309-1000 / 0800-333-6427 (MGAS), con su tarjeta AMERICAN EXPRESS, VISA, MASTERCARD, ARGENCARD, CABAL O CREDENCIAL, de lunes a viernes, en el horario de 8:30 a 17:30.
  • Si Ud. prefiere, también puede adherirse con su tarjeta VISA, llamando al 4379-7700.