Changing a fuse in Buenos Aires

andrewjps

Registered
Hi all,

Just a question some of you may be able to help out with.

A fuse has blown in our apartment block, but the fuses are those old edison type fuses which I have no experience with. The problem is I don't know which one has blown to change, nor have a changed one before (although it looks quite simple, just screw out and screw back in). The people at the ferreteria suggested I call and electrician, but surely this is not necessary for changing a fuse!

Does anyone have any experience with these? Thank you in advance.

If you have a portero, ask him for help. If not, I'd play it safe and just have an electrician sent over. It shouldn't be too pricey at all.

Yes, what Mcaffa said, call your portero, they usually do that for you if you do not know how to do it ( tip him after )

Look into the little window..... the bad fuse (or two) will looked charred.
The good ones will look nice and neat with maybe a little age yellowing of the window.
If they all look good the problem may be somewhere different. You will need to call an electrician and be ready to give up a ‘huevito’.

huh?
Do you hire someone to tie your shoe when it comes untied?

there is nothing simpler than changing a screw in fuse.

You unscrew the old one, and screw in a new one.

fuses have a small metal bar that goes across, under the glass. This little strip of metal melts when the fuse blows.
So a good fuse will have clear glass, look clean inside, and have a strip of metal going across just below the glass, usually about 1/8" (5mm) wide.

A blown fuse will have the strip of metal gone- often, you will see the two ends, melted and bent. Most of the time a blown fuse will have black soot inside as well.

You need to examine all the fuses, and find the one that looks physically damaged. Unscrewing it should NOT make any lights go off, or outlets stop working, since, theoretically, its already not working.