How to obtain DNI by yourself

Vbkk

Registered
Hello to all,

I am a newbie to the BA-expat and have been here for 5 months on a retirement visa (Pensionado) and wonder if anyone could shreds some lights on how to renew one year visa by yourself and what is a DNI? I have been contact with a lawyer and she told me that I would need a letter of income affidavit and get a local police record plus the POA. The income letter I could get it from the US embassy which I have been informed but the last two things i have no idea where to begin. Also, she has told me the fee for renewing one year visa is $ 400.00 dollars and she said that I should get the DNI do it by myself or she can help me to get it with in a month for another $ 300.00 or I Do these sound reasonable?
Any help would be appreciated,

All the information you need is already here in the forum. You can apply for your DNI (document nacional identidad/national identity document) on your own and should do so now. It will cost you $40 pesos (plus bus/train/taxi fare).

You can only renew your visa within sixty days of the anniversary of issue. The fee is $600 pesos and you can do that on your own as well. If you don't want to go to migraciones alone I know a woman who will help you and make one or two trips to migraciones with you for a flat fee of $200 (she went with me twice in 2006). I applied for my DNI alone shortly after receiving the visa (when it was pure hell to do so, and I also did all my renewals by myself, including the change to permanent residency

I believe the POA is power of attorney for the lawyer to renew your visa for you.

You'll also need to have the letter from the embassy "certified in Argentina" (the equivalent of the Apostille) at an office on Arenales. I'm sure someone can provide the exact address