Questions From American Airlines Rep On Recent Us Visit?

camel

Registered
On a recent visit to the US, right before you get on the plane (just after they check your luggage the final time), an American Airlines employee asked me what I am doing in Argentina, and whether I was working. I told her the truth (I am a student), and that was it. She asked my travel companion the same thing, who responded by saying "I have residency". The airline rep said "yes but what do you do in Argentina? Are you working?". This didn't happen on any previous trips. This was an airline employee asking, not a government employee.

Has this happened to anyone else, or does anyone know why the airline rep is asking this?

Edit: to clarify, this was when leaving Argentina, not entering Argentina.

Weird. Unless AA is getting hit with the deportation fees for perma-tourists. It doesn't seem there would be enough cases to warrant asking the question of everyone. And it's particularly immaterial if one has residency.

They used to give me a hard time about reciprocity at every stop and every flight en route... even though I had permanent residency. They were clearly spooked about all those who had not paid in advance for a time.

Edit: That's still weird.

The Argentine gov't could be getting some airlines to check differnt things for different reasons.
When I flew back from Chile to B.A. on 3/08.The LAN check in agent in Santiago and I got into a hassle over the reciprocracity fee.
She asked me where my proof was that I paid it.
Oviously,badly trained,she didn't say, which fee she was referring to the Argentine one or the Chilean one and we were speaking in Spanish.