Spanish-American Newcomer's Observations

dani28

Registered
Well, I finally did it and came down. Thus far, I must admit I am seriously loving it and wondered why the hell I stayed in Madrid (where I am originally from) for so long, and why I even bothered with making an attempt this January at living in over-priced, job-forsaken Chicago (where I studied, as I also hold US citizenship)

A few observations:

Why are ex-pat's hating on that it takes sooo much money to live here? I am living in Recoleta, in a nice shared flat and my rent is expensive by Argentine standards since I am charged in dollars(more on that later) but just about everything else seems pretty inexpensive to me from both a €uro and a USD perspective:

Dining out: I had a steak dinner for 2 at a very posh restaurant in Puerto Madero complete with a nice bottle of wine for the equivalent of about $70 USD. Back in the States, any ex-pat knows this will barely pay for 1 Ruth's Chris steak. Among other bargains, Benihana's daily lunch menu is 50 pesos complete with salad, soup, entree, drink, and dessert. I have never seen Benihana's so cheap anywhere in the world. Dining out definitely seems to be cheap, and to be honest I have yet to cook in the 2 weeks I have been here.

Going Out: Pretty comparable to the States or Europe, however I am told that this is because most bars/clubs target a wide international crowd and that this is why their prices reflect this, still though you definitely get a farrrrrrr farrrrrr more liberal pour on your drink than you would in the States on alcohol. Also, the bartenders here and PR people are a dime a dozen at handing out ¨free passes¨ or ¨free drink¨ invitations.