Train accident in Once (linea Sarmiento) 340 wounded

I can't stand the fact that those idiots are more concerned with taking photos/videos than helping out! GRRRR!

I hate to sound cold about this horrific accident, but when I heard about it I wasn't in the least surprised. Shocked yes.
Similarly, to how many of us reacted to the accident in Sept.
I use TBA only occasionally and even then with trepidation.
The rail crossings are a joke and the conditions of the trains even worse.
One observer was quoted as saying that his was an accident waiting to happen.
These trains are nothing more than cattle trucks and until someone takes the bull by the horns and brings the rail system in this country up to an acceptable level, I fear that his will not be the last accident.

Sorry for the ignorant question, but as a BA newbie I'm very curious as to how the relative safety and maintenance record of these TBA trains stacks up against the Subte, especially the "historical" lines.

I wasn't surprised in the least either. When I lived in Almagro my apartment overlooked the same train line on Diaz Velez. In my year and a bit in that apartment I saw the traind erail two or three times -- and it was obvious the people on it weren't that shocked by the occurence either, since instead of waiting around for police/ambulances etc most just jumped off the train and walked off, going about things as if it was a usual occurence. The problem this time was that it derailed actually in a station.

Re saftey in subte vs trains -- subte much safer, more well maintained. the trains here can be disastrous. and if it isn't the trains themselves it's the drivers (especially buses and large trucks) that ignore the crossing signals and cross the lines when a train is approaching.

Gringoboy said:
I hate to sound cold about this horrific accident, but when I heard about it I wasn't in the least surprised. Shocked yes.
Similarly, to how many of us reacted to the accident in Sept.