Traveling within the country without your passport?

jenh

Registered
Anyone able to answer this one...?

My work is sending me from a work assignment here in Argentina to a work assignment in the UK. To do this, I'd have to send off my USA passport for 20 working days or so to receive the UK visa. Can I travel around the country internally with a copy of that passport and another form of ID? Anyone know or know someone who would?

Thanks!

You will be more than fine to travel without your passport. Just keep in mind you do need your actual passport to exchange money.

They will accept a copy of my passport then as ID to show I am a resident when, for example, I have booked a resident priced flight from BUE to Mendoza or such?

Would be great if someone has first hand experience on this - I don't want to be caught in a bad situation.

Has anyone flown internally with a different form of ID from the US such as a drivers license?

jenh said:
They will accept a copy of my passport then as ID to show I am a resident when, for example, I have booked a resident priced flight from BUE to Mendoza or such?

Would be great if someone has first hand experience on this - I don't want to be caught in a bad situation.

Has anyone flown internally with a different form of ID from the US such as a drivers license?

You might want to contact the airline as well. They might be able to provide insight into policy or how they handle this type of situation. U.S. carriers will notate special situations in their reservation systems. Not at all certain how that is handled here.

jenh said:

They won't ask for your passport to prove your residency -- they will ask for your DNI or Libreta -- or do you only have temporary residency? (in which case I'm not sure if that is a paper in your passport or what) -- you will need proof of your residency to be able to fly on a resident-priced fare, otherwise they may make you pay the difference at the check-in counter.