What To Do With My Money?

semigoodlookin

Registered
I want to say I am not an experienced person when it comes to finance. I spend what I earn and have never had credit for anything, not a card, phone contract, nothing, so my only dealings with money are the occasional phone call to my one bank account I have held in the UK since I was 17.

I have seen enough on these boards to know that plenty of people know what they are talking about, especially in terms of the snakepit that is Argentina. So my question is, what would you do in my situation.

I am a writer and I make good money, paid in US dollars and Euros straight into my UK bank account. As it is right now, I use my VISA debit card and just get my cash straight from here at ATM machines. Of course, I take a hit against the Blue rate by doing it this way. Should I be going to Uruguay every month? Should I be using Xoom? If so, I would then need to take my dollars to be changed into Pesos. The only place I know to do this is on Florida where I get the headache enducing "cambio, cambio" thrown at me, is that the best place to do it?

What should I be doing in my situation?

As always, thanks greatly for any help.

Going to Colonia is a situation to endure, but getting a better rate should induce you to go for it!

EDIT: but indeed, going to Colonia doesn't give the best rate all things considered (Glasgowjohn below)

xoom is for folks with an account in the USA. Have a look at: https://azimo.com/en

Using Xoom would be much, much, much, much better than ATMs but I don't think you can use it from the UK, it's Azimo for you guys.

Uruguay would be better than using the ATMs here. I don't see that as a great option for myself because of the cost and time to get there, but if I had no other option I'd do that before I pulled money out of ATMs here.