Work visa with a record??? HELP

BAbound

Registered
Hi everyone. I'm new to the forum and looking for some help on a recent dilemma that came up...

I have worked for a corporation in the US for several years since I graduated college. I have traveled to Argentina several times helping our sister company located in BA. So far Argentina has been wonderful, and I love Buenos Aires. Recently, the CEO in Argentina asked for me to move here for two years for work, and I said yes without hesitation. We are currently going through contract negotiations, and just started looking into getting a work visa. After doing some initial research on my own I realized that I have to submit a "lack of criminal record" from the FBI. This is where my dilemma begins.

I have several misdemeanors on my record from over five years ago when I was 18 / 19. To simply state the facts, I was young, dumb, and going down the wrong path. Thank God I pulled me head out of my a**, but now I risk the great opportunity to come live in Argentina.

One, I need to know what are immigrations policies on this. Will my visa be denied because of my record or do I have a chance?

Two, my company doesn't know about my record and I would like to keep it that way (they never asked). They will be using a third party to work on getting the visa, but I know I personally have to obtain the FBI record. Is there any chance of keeping this confidential by sending the documents directly to the Argentinean government?

Right now I'm in Buenos Aires for a few weeks and now that I've realized this I'm really stressed out and need some help, any would be appreciated. Thanks!