Wtf?

BSS

Registered
I try not to watch the news too much because I find it biased and sensational, but I couldn't help but follow the news of the murdered boy, Matías Beradrí. While I don't pretend that his death is different from many other deaths that occur here in Buenos Aires, or Argentina in general, I find myself very affected by it.

I studied here during University and have lived here for several years, so I understand that Argentine crime is a complicated issue. But instead of becoming numb to all of these terrible stories, I find them hitting me harder and harder.

The people who committed this crime originally asked for 500 pesos. A life goes for 500 pesos these days. The fact that this boy was able to escape but was recaptured and killed because no one would help him speaks volumes about our society. I can stop thinking about how desperate and sad that child must have felt-going from door to door, begging for someone to help.

What would I have done in a situation like that? Would I open my door and try to help, or would I hesitate? Would I just assume that the kid was trying to rob me, high on paco? I don't know, and that is extremely sad to me.

BSS said:
I can stop thinking about how desperate and sad that child must have felt-going from door to door, begging for someone to help.

What would I have done in a situation like that? Would I open my door and try to help, or would I hesitate? Would I just assume that the kid was trying to rob me, high on paco? I don't know, and that is extremely sad to me.

That's a difficult question. Honestly, I must admit that probably I wouldn't have taken the boy in. I live alone, and would have been afraid it was s trick.

Nowadays things are so bad that we distrust everyone, and teenage boys are supposed to be particularly dangerous. Taxi drivers are deadly afraid of them - say they often are so high on drugs they fear nothing, and are capable of doing anything.