"Insecurity is just a perception"

SaraSara

Registered
These are the results of a world-wide Gallup poll asking people if they felt safe going out after dark:

-- 61% of Argentines are afraid to go out at night
-- The worldwide average is 36%.
-- Only in 31 of the 105 surveyed countries were people more afraid to go out after dark than in Argentina.

But cheer up: according to government officials, crime is not a reality but just a "feeling", a "perception": No hay inseguridad, solo hay una sensacion de inseguridad.

The same government officials have assured me that Santa Claus WILL be coming down my chimney December 24th. Having total trust in the government's official information, I've had the chimney swept in anticipation for his arrival.

http://www.lanacion.com.ar/nota.asp?nota_id=1320463

As a criminal lawyer I can tell you that there was never such a lack of work as nowadays, so it is rotten fish.
I agree that in this contry the "security issue" is a way to make politics that the right uses too much.
As a milonguero I go out every single night, I have just scared of the rain.
Regards

Out of all the cities I have lived in in Latin America, Buenos Aires has probably felt like the safest.

Practically every night for the last 5 months I go out and wander the streets for an hour or so, observing the cartoneros and chatting with them. I have never ONCE felt in danger.

I do sense some fear from some of my porteño friends and after reading the local news, I have began to believe it is strongly media related (a mere social construction of fear!!).

Sure, events do occur, violent ones, but they are far and between when compared to total population, other cities of equal population, insert other variables, etc.

But my personal experiences are not a strong enough correlation ... just a perception, which is equally as valid!

Glad it is such a safe place. Makes me feel better.