how people live?

satoko

Registered
Hi, I am kind of new in Buenos Aires, and a little curious how people pay for their life here.

I lived in South East Asia and everything was a lot cheaper there, but salary was higher than here in BsAs. I am from Japan and have traveled stats, there are much more stuff cheaper than here. Of course I know there are a lot more stuff expensive than here, properties, medical services etc, but things for everyday life are cheaper.

I have read some threads about salary here. salary rate is about 1/2 - 1/3 or less compare to Asia, but prices are not 1/2, almost same, maybe many things here are more expensive. I don't think I can live with Argentinean salary rate, but many people are ok with it, why? I am not a shopper, I am not a gambler, I just buy food for everyday, that's it.

One thing I noticed is that many of my friends here doesn't pay for rent, they already have house from parents, or having sublet guests etc. If you don't pay for the rent.

I am just curious how everybody lives. I am currently living with JPY/USD, not pesos, but in the future I might have to live with peso!

Sorry for the stupid question, just being curious and would love to get some ideas!

Actually the impression you received is an accurate one. Most argentineans depend on their families to meet the end of the month and getting off the ground is really hard and expensive if you don´t have some kind of financial support from a relative. Inflationary prices are a constant and the salaries never match the inflationary rates. Have you considered living in other city or town rather than Buenos Aires? I know prices are lower when you get away from the city.